Mind Reader

Prompted by Mind Reader

Climbing off my Spyder when I arrived home this afternoon I was surprised by a voice at the end of the driveway.  I looked around to see a 10-12 year old boy that I had passed coming down the street, his bike leant up against our letterboxes, kneeling down over one of the itinerant moggies that live in our communal drive.  Thinking the cat had been hurt, I asked “What happened?” and this young gent replied “No, nothing is wrong.”  And as he rubbed the cat’s tummy, “I see these cats every day on the way home from school, they are really friendly.  It is just nice to be able to give them a pat at the end of a rough week.” 

Before I could wander down and ask what had been so bad and whether he thought it was his week or the cats’ that was rough, he was back on the bike and off on his way home.  I can’t help but wonder what is going on in his life, but I feel good that he knows how to deal with a “rough week”.  I might need to find my own belly to scratch …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.